you're reading...
Conference Speakers

Black and Blue: Remembering Islam and Hip Hop

Black and Blue: Remembering Islam and Hip Hop

Suad Abdul Khabeer, The Islamic Monthly

“I don’t care what people say | I’m gonna do this hip-hop anyway | I don’t care what people scream | I’m gonna follow my, I’m gonna follow my | Beat me till I’m black and blue | Freedom comes in that shade, too | Stand my ground and persevere | Until my death I’ma be right here”

So sings the Emmy award nominee, poet and vocalist Liza Garza on her debut album, “Bloom Beautiful.” These verses, which repeat over and over the syncopated track are a dhikr (remembrance), that when taken with the sincerity and sanctity with which it is offered, is a challenge to remember how the story of American Muslims and the story of hip-hop are intertwined, and why that matters.

Read the rest at The Islamic Monthly

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

